Independence Day Swatfest

Saturday, July 6, 2019, 8:45 a.m.

Last year, Anne Gallagher's tee shot on the sixth hole that stopped just three inches from the hole was one of highlights of this year's Independence Day Swatfest. Anne converted the kick-in putt for a birdie and first place among the women contestants.  Sarah Van Fleet finished second and Amanda Maskell grabbed third.

Jim Van Fleet birdied the sixth hole to take first place and John Merchant birdied the seventh hole to finish second (you've seen their names among Swatfest medalists many times before).  Jack Dayton won third place.

In the Junior Division, Gardiner Jubinville was first, with Charlie Layng and Teddy Layng in a tie for second.



Family Day Scramble Tournament

Saturday, July 20, 2019, 3:00 p.m.


First place: Fred Martindale & Brian Martindale

Second Place: Kathy Maskell, Amanda Maskell, Blake Maskell & Lindsay Pomeroy

Longest drive:

Women- Amanda Maskell

Men- Blake Maskell

Youth/Junior- Cal Hoyt

Closest to pin:

Women- Renee Nottebohm

Men- Doug Clark


Lobster Bake Scramble Tournament

Saturday, August 10, 2019, 3:00 p.m.


Low Gross: John & Rosemary Merchant and Jim & Sarah Van Fleet

1st Low Net: Bob & Sue Buxbaum and Zach & Ramon Serrano

2nd Low Net: Team of Malcolm & Sandra Rice, Paul Hodge and John Jaeger

3rd Low Net: Team of Gail Williams, Jackie Cross, and Dan Zamow

Closest to the Pin:

Women- Joan Dayton

Men-John Jaeger

Long Drive:

Women-Amanda Layng

Men- Nat Hulme


Labor Day Swatfest

Saturday, August 31, 2019, 8:45 a.m.

(Rain Date, September 1)

Potluck Picnic to Follow


Frost Tournament/Blanchard Invitational

Saturday, October 12th, 2019

The 2018 season ended with a record-turnout for the Frost Tournament and Blanchard Invitational. The winners of the four coveted trophies:

Vi Houghton Trophy—Warren Bogle

Billy Hill Cup—Tom Federle

Shekeholt Trophy—Donna Clark

Doc Houghton Trophy—John Rent

The following are the results in other categories:

Closest to the pin—Bryce Crapser

Long Drive (Men)—Dave Hoidal

Long Drive (Women)—Barbara Marshall

Low gross 9 Holes (Men)—John Merchant

Low gross 18 Holes (Men)—Merrill Marchand

Low gross 9 holes (Women)—Linda Grant


Notices and Results

Men’s Championship
– Spalding Cup

The club's last two Men's Champions--Jim Van Fleet and Corky Clarke--met in the 36-hole final on August 26, with prevailing.  



Women’s Championship
– Brown Cup

Joan Dayton, who won the Brown Cup last year, repeated in 2018 by besting Sally Crapser on the 9th hole.  



Junior Championship
– Driscoll Cup

Play anytime May 25--August 31

Defending Champion--Zach Serrano

Men’s Handicap
– Zaugg Cup

Youth was served when 13-year old Quinn Federle bested seasoned veteran John Merchant, 6-5,  to win the Zaugg Cup for 2018

Women’s Handicap
– McCall Cup

Two Amandas--Maskell and Layng--played in the championship match for the McCall Cup.  Amanda Layng won 2 up.  

Women’s Nine Hole Handicap
– Shattuck Cup

No qualifying required,
Sign up by July 7

Tournament July 9--23

2017 Champion:  Not contested

Other Trophy Contests

Must be played anytime between May 25 and August 31, 2018


O.D. McLellan Cup – Men

Two consecutive 18 hole rounds

2017 Winner--Not Contested

Whitney Cup – Women

Two consecutive 18 hole rounds

2017 Winner--Not Contested

Ed Gwillim Cup

18 holes, full handicap

Men and Women, 55 and older

2017 Winner--Sky Grant


Galey Trophy

9 holes, Callaway System

Boys and Girls, 12 and under

Defender:  Not contested


Wheldon-Buxbaum Trophy

Best JAG qualifying score

2017--No qualifiers


Buxbaum Family Trophy

2017 Winners--Laurie and Ted Curtis

Felber Cup – Mother and Daughter

2017 Winner--Not Contested


Layng Cup – Husband and Wife

2017 Winners--Jim and Sarah Van Fleet


Marshall Cup – Father/Mother & Daughter/Son-in-Law

2017 Winner--Not contested


Shute Cup – Father and Daughter

2017 Winners--Kathy Maskell and Chuck Hilley


Stelle Cup – Mother and Son

2017 Winners--Sally and Bryce Crapser


Weld Cup – Father and Son

2017 Winners--Not contested


Ringer Contests – Men and Women

Men's 2017 Co-Winners--Corky Clarke, Jim Van Fleet, Bob Buxbaum

Women’s 2017 Co-Winners (24 handicap and below)--Joan Dayton and Linda Grant

Women’s 2017 Winner (25 handicap and higher)--Laurie Curtis


Women’s Putting Contest

2017 Winner--Not played


Blanchard Invitational – Frost Tournament

Modified Callaway handicap system

To be played October 6


Shekeholt Family Trophy
–9 holes

Defender:  Malcolm Rice


Doc Houghton Cup – 18 holes



Vi Houghton Trophy – 9 holes

Defender:  Sally Crapser


Billy Hill Cup – 18 holes

Defender:  Eric Ross